Skip to Main Content

CHI Texas Division Hospitals Recognized With Four Premier Performance Awards

Posted in:

Premier Performance Awards Recognize CHI Texas Division Hospitals for Patient Safety, Effective Care, and Affordability.

HOUSTON (July 29, 2019)Seven CHI Texas Division hospitals have received Premier Performance awards, which recognize dozens of hospitals, health systems, and suppliers for their outstanding work to improve healthcare quality and costs. Winners were announced in mid-June at the annual Breakthroughs Conference and Exhibition in Nashville, Tennessee, hosted by Premier Inc, a leading healthcare improvement company.

“This recognition reinforces our commitment to reliably deliver the best care experience to the patients we serve,” said Doug Lawson, Ph.D., CHI Texas Division President. “We are proud to receive these honors as we continue providing high-quality patient care and improving the health of communities across the great state of Texas.”

St. Joseph Health Regional Hospital was awarded the Premier Hospital Improvement Innovation Network (HIIN) Excellence in Patient Safety Across the Board award. The award recognizes the hospital’s commitment and execution, from the C-suite to the bedside, to creating a culture of patient safety and delivering high-quality, safe, reliable care and services to the patients they serve.

“These CHI Texas Division hospitals have been working hard to create a culture of safe, reliable, and coordinated care,” said Roshni Ghosh, MD, Vice President of Government Services, Chief Medical Information Officer, Premier. “We are on the seventh year of this program and the accomplishments of these hospitals have directly impacted average harm rates and other metrics. Premier congratulates everyone at CHI for their hard work and tremendous achievements.”

St. Luke’s Health-Memorial Lufkin was recognized as a winner of the 2019 QUEST® Award for High-value Healthcare for providing outstanding patient care. The hospital also received Premier’s QUEST 2020 collaborative award for achieving top performance among its non-teaching hospital peer group.

St. Joseph Health Grimes Hospital in Navasota, Texas; St. Luke’s Health-Lakeside Hospital in The Woodlands, Texas; St. Luke’s Health-Memorial Livingston in Livingston, Texas; and St. Luke’s Health-Memorial San Augustine in San Augustine, Texas were named finalists for the 2019 QUEST® Award for High-Value Healthcare.

These hospitals received finalist recognition for achieving top overall performance in any four of the five areas measured in Premier’s QUEST 2020 collaborative, including affordability, effective care and coordination, prevention and treatment for leading causes of mortality, personal and family experience, and patient safety.

Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center in Houston was named a finalist in its peer group for the 2019 QUEST® Award for High-value Healthcare for providing outstanding patient care as a Second Top Academic Performer. Baylor St. Luke’s was also named a finalist for the Premier’s QUEST 2020 collaborative award for achieving high rates of performance among its academic peer group.

The peer group improvement category is designed to recognize QUEST 2020 top performing hospitals based on size, patient mix and academic status. Each QUEST 2020 member was grouped into one of six categories: critical access hospital (CAH), academics, Teaching ≥ 375 beds, Teaching < 375 beds, Non-Teaching  ≥ 175 beds, and Non-Teaching < 175 beds. A top performer in each of the six peer groups was named a winner of the QUEST Award in their specific peer group category.


About Premier Inc.

Premier Inc. is a leading healthcare improvement company, uniting an alliance of more than 4,000 U.S. hospitals and health systems and approximately 165,000 other providers and organizations to transform healthcare. With integrated data and analytics, collaboratives, supply chain solutions, and consulting and other services, Premier enables better care and outcomes at a lower cost.

About the CHI Texas Division

The CHI Texas Division, a member of Catholic Health Initiatives (CHI), is comprised of three markets―in Houston, St. Luke’s Health (St. Luke’s) is home to eight hospitals, eight emergency centers, Diagnostic & Treatment Center, Radiation & CyberKnife Center, and numerous Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Group locations throughout Greater Houston; St. Luke’s Health Memorial (three hospitals and a long-term acute care facility in East Texas); and St. Joseph Health (five hospitals and several St. Joseph Medical Group locations across Brazos Valley). In addition, St. Luke’s flagship hospital, Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center in the Texas Medical Center, is a part of a joint venture agreement with Baylor College of Medicine. Together, St. Luke’s and Baylor College of Medicine are transforming healthcare delivery with a mission to usher in a new era of healthcare to create healthier communities. For more information, visit

Find a Doctor

Looking for a doctor? Perform a quick search by name or browse by specialty.